Thursday, 30 June 2016

Nuclear Supplier's Group (NSG)

Nuclear Supplier's Group (NSG)
Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) was signed in 1968 to prevent spread of nuclear materials, technology and weapons so as to develop co-operation among the nations. This treaty was signed by a total of 191 countries except India, South Sudan, Israel and Pakistan. This treaty recognized two groups of countries namely the Nuclear Weapon States (NWS) comprising US, UK ,China,France and Russia and the other being Non Nuclear Weapon States (NNWS). 

As per this treaty:

  • NWS member countries had to commit for the complete nuclear disarmament
  • NNWS agreed to let go the developing or acquiring of nuclear weapons.

Reasons for India and other countries did not signed in NWS:

India and the rest of the countries dint sign this as they must dismantle all nuclear weapons and place them under international safeguards to become a NNWS..............

No comments:

Post a Comment