General Awareness Questions for IBPS RRB Mains 2016


Q1. IDBI Bank is an Indian government-owned financial service company, formerly known as Industrial Development Bank of India, headquartered in?
(a) Kolkata
(b) New Delhi
(c) Bengaluru
(d) Chennai
(e) Mumbai

Q2. Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is one of the most famous Hindu temples dedicated to Lord Shiva and is one of the twelve Jyotirlingams, which are supposed to be the most sacred abodes of Lord Shiva in which of the following state?
(a) Himachal Pradesh
(b) Arunachal Pradesh
(c) Madhya Pradesh
(d) Uttar Pradesh
(e) Andhra Pradesh

Q3. Banaras Hindu University is a public central university located in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. Established in 1916 by?
(a) Mahatma Gandhi
(b) Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya
(c) Rajendra Prasad
(d) Vallabhbhai Patel
(e) None of the above

Q4. The Cabinet has approved the creation of the HEFA, taking a step closer to developing high-quality infrastructure in premier educational institutions recently. HEFA stands for?
(a) Higher Essential Financing Association
(b) Honour Education Field Agency
(c) Higher Education Financing Authority
(d) Higher Education Financing Agency
(e) Higher Education Financing Association

Q5. India and which country have signed a Memorandum of Understanding for promoting bilateral cooperation in the field of Information and Communication Technologies recently? 
(a) Malaysia
(b) Singapore
(c) South Africa
(d) Cuba
(e) Bhutan

Q6. The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) and approved the proposal for initiation of the __________ of Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP).
(a) 1st Phase
(b) 3rd Phase
(c) 4th Phase
(d) 2nd Phase
(e) 5th Phase

Q7. Who among the following has been appointed as brand ambassador of the ambitious Samajwadi Pension Yojana by Uttar Pradesh govt?
(a) Vidya Balan
(b) Aamir Khan
(c) Aishwarya Rai 
(d) Salman Khan
(e) Kareena Kapoor

Q8. The govt has launched a toll-free number to register postal complaints which will initially be operational for 12 hours on working days. The toll-free number is.........?
(a) 1924
(b) 1940
(c) 1912
(d) 1999
(e) 1947

Q9. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a political and economic organisation of ten member countries. Where is the headquarter of ASEAN?
(a) Bangkok, Thailand
(b) Phnom Penh, Cambodia
(c) Naypyidaw, Myanmar
(d) Jakarta, Indonesia
(e) Hanoi, Vietnam

Q10. WMAs are temporary advances extended by RBI to the govt, to bridge the interval between expenditure and receipts. WMAs stand for?
(a) Ways and Means allowance
(b) Ways and Means Advances
(c) Wages and Means allowance
(d) Weather and Management Advance
(e) None of the above

Q11. South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan, is a landlocked country in northeastern Africa that gained its independence from Sudan in 2011. What is the currency of South Sudan?
(a) pound
(b) Ruble
(c) Dollar
(d) Rand
(e) Euro

Q12. Who is responsible for minting coins in India, and under which act? 
(a) RBI, Coinage Act 
(b) RBI, RBI Act 
(c) Government of India, Coinage Act
(d) Government of India, Banking Regulation Act
(e) None of the above 

Q13. What is the maximum denomination of currency note that can be issued by RBI? 
(a) Rs. 1,000 
(b) Rs. 5,000 
(c) Rs. 10,000
(d) Rs. 50,000
(e) None of the above

Q14. 3rd BRICS Urbanisation Forum meet has begun in which city in India?
(a) Kolkata, West Bengal
(b) Patna, Bihar
(c) Nagpur, Maharashtra
(d) Ahmedabad, Gujarat
(e) Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

Q15. Name the Javelin thrower, who became the first Indian to clinch two gold medals at the Paralympics after he broke his own world record to clinch the top honours at the Rio Games.
(a) Deepa Malik 
(b) Mariyappan Thangavelu
(c) Varun Bhati 
(d) Devendra Jhajharia
(e) None of the above