Strugglers Will Find Their Way To Victory

What a wonderful tournament it was? Close matches, Brilliant catches and Spectacular shots, aal delivered in this season of IPL. The whole nation was watching the two giants clash and the fight was on, the day Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated the Gujarat Lions in Qualifier 2. Royal Challengers Bangalore succumbed to the pressure of a mammoth run chase as Sunrisers Hyderabad clinched their maiden Indian Premier League title thanks to an eight-run victory in a thrilling summit clash on Sunday night.

Royal Challengers Bangalore deemed as the favourites coming into the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Afterall, they had everything going in their favour. The final was being played on their home ground, skipper Virat Kohli and Ab de Villiers were in the form of their lives and bowlers Yuzvendra Chahal and Shane Watson were among the top three wicket takers in the tournament. Such was the mindset in the Bangalore dressing room that wicketkeeper Lokesh Rahul had said before the final that "we have already won the tournament in our mind". To have confidence in your team and abilities is a good thing but overconfidence can bring about the downfall of even the best in the business. RCB and KL Rahul learnt it the hard way.

A team which started with two straight losses in the tournament has a lot to work on. With Tom Moody, VVS Laxman and Muttiah Muralitharan as coach, definitely a miracle was expected. And the team delivered at the right moment. The team with good bowling line up was against the team with best batting line up. With Chris Gayle Unleashed, SRH started pretty bad with the ball. But as the game progressed, the RCB couldn't maintain the momentum provided by the openers. The SRH sticked to the basics and remained calm and composed till the end.

What was evident yesterday was Team Effort. Despite the missed catches and bad bowling start, SRH managed to win the tournament. They didn't have the BIG names as RCB had, but they managed to win the title for the first time. RCB had a lot in their favour (Home Ground, Big Batting Line Up And Huge Fan Following) and despite all the odds, SRH won.

Friends, its not always the best who win. The one who stick to the plan and take benefit of their strengths by striking the opponents weakness will always have an edge. Those who think SBI is tough should take a lesson. Come forward, play offensive and win.

Important Awards Winner:
  • IPL 2016 champions: Sunrisers Hyderabad.
  • Most Valuable Player: Virat Kohli (RCB).
  • Orange Cap (most runs scored in the season): Virat Kohli (RCB, 973 runs).
  • Purple Cap (most wickets in the season): Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH, 23 wickets).
  • Emerging Player of the Tournament: Mustafizur Rahman (SRH, 17 wickets).
  • Best fielder of the tournament: AB De Villiers.
  • Best catch of the tournament: Suresh Raina (for his one-handed stunner in the slips in the KKR vs GL match).
  • Most sixes in IPL 2016: Virat Kohli (RCB, 38).
  • Fastest 50: Chris Morris (DD, 17 balls).
  • Fairplay award: Sunrisers Hyderabad.

No comments