1.    “High Power” bags Yellow Oscar Award
i. Indian short film ‘High Power’, has won the ’Yellow Oscar’ award at the Uranium Film Festival at Rio-de-Janeiro, Brazil.
ii. This film (made in 2012) is based on the project- affected people of Tarapur Atomic Power Station. The film depicts the woes of the people displaced by the nuclear power plant built in 1960s.
iiiPradeep Indulkar is the producer-director of this film accepted the award.

2.    Lydia
Davis Won Man Booker Prize
i. American writer Lydia Davis has won
the 5th Man Booker International
ii. A professor of creative writing at
the University of Albany, Ms. Davis is also an accomplished translator. Her
works include ‘The End of the Story’ and ‘Varieties of Disturbance’.
iii.  Lydia Davis is also known for her work as a
translator of French literature and philosophy, most notably of Marcel Proust
and Gustave Flaubert.
3.    Kerala
CM Won UN Public Service Award 
i. Chief Minister Oommen Chandy’s Mass Contact Programme has won the
prestigious United Nations Public Service Award for 2013.
ii. Chandy’s mass contact programme has
been widely lauded as a unique democratic experiment in which the CM of an
Indian state met thousands of people directly without any intermediaries.
iii. CM’s Mass Contact Programme bagged the first prize from the Asia-Pacific region, while South Korea
came second.
iv. Italy
and Slovania
won the first and second prize respectively from Europe and
North America
Kalam gets Wernher von Braun Memorial
i. Former
President A.P.J. Abdul Kalam was conferred with the US-based National Space
Society’s (NSS) Wernher von Braun Memorial Award in San Diego.
ii. The award instituted by NSS, a non-profit organisation
dedicated to the creation of a space faring civilization
iii. The honour is given to recognise excellence in management
and leadership in a space-related project, where the project is significant and
successful and the manager commands the loyalty of a strong team that he has
iv. Award was conferred on Kalam at the International
Space Development Conference
5.    Sathwik Karnik Wins National Geographic Bee Contest
i. Sathwik Karnik, an Indian-origin boy from
 has won this year’s National Geographic Bee contest
after gruelling rounds.
ii. National Geographic Bee is an annual geography
 sponsored by the National Geographic Society since
iii. To clinch
the title, Karnik correctly named Chimborazo as the mountain in
Ecuador that represents the farthest point from the Earth’s centre.
6.    Asom Ratna
Award (posthumously) to Late Smt. Indira Goswami 
i. The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee presented the Asom
Ratna Award (posthumously) to Late Smt. Indira Goswami 
ii. The President also welcomed the recognition, by the Government of Assam,
of the contribution of Late Smt. Indira Goswami by awarding her the Asom
Ratna Award posthumously.
7.    Srimanta
Shankardeva Award to Smt. Sharmila Tagore 
i. The
President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee presented the
Shankardeva Award for the year 2008 to Smt. Sharmila Tagore
 on May 13,
2013 at a function at Guwahati, Assam. 
ii. The President congratulated Sharmila Tagore for her rich contribution to India’s
cultural life.
iii. He said as a goodwill ambassador for UNICEF and Chairperson
of the Indian Film Censor Board, Smt. Sharmila Tagore
 has used her
influence to promote initiatives aimed at bringing positive change in our
8.    Anupam Kher Won Asian Award
i. Bollywood actor Anupam Kher was
honoured with the Asian Award. 
ii. Anupam Kher won award for his performances
in movies like Silver Linings Playbook“, “Bride
& Prejudice
“, and “Bend it Like Beckham“.
iii.The 3rd Asian Awards ceremony took place on 16
April 2013
 in London.
NOTE: The Asian Awards is the only event in Britain that celebrates achievements of individuals originating from
the Asian continent, including those residing in Britain, India, China, Japan, and Singapore
Phalke Award to Pran  
i. Shri Pran Krishan Sikand, popularly
known as Pran, the veteran film actor, has been conferred the Dadasaheb
Phalke Award for the year 2012.
ii. He is the 44th Dada Saheb Phalke Award Winner.
iii. The award consists of a Swarn
Kamal, a cash prize of Rs.10 lakhs
 and a shawl.
10.  Matt
Prior wins England Cricketer of the year
i. Matt Prior
has been named the England cricketer-of-the-year for 2012/13 
ii. The 31-year-old is one of the
first names on the team sheet after England captain Alastair Cook and the
latest demonstration of his worth to the side came with his match-saving
unbeaten hundred in the drawn third Test against New Zealand in Auckland in