Bank Holidays in Assam 2020: Every state has its own specific list of holidays depending on its culture, festivals, and events. So as Assam has its own list of bank holidays that are authenticated by the Reserve Bank of India. In this article, we have a compiled list of bank holidays including public, national, and government holidays. Go through the article and get to know the complete list of bank holidays in Assam.

Click on the link to check RBI’s official page of bank holidays 2020

RBI Bank Holidays 2020

List of Assam Bank Holidays 2020

Below is the list of Assam Bank Holiday 2020, check out the holidays authenicated by RBI to know about the bank holidays of Assam for the year 2020 and on which day these public or government holidays are falling.  

Bank Holidays in Assam 2020

List of Assam Bank Holidays


Bank Holiday


January 2020

15 January



26 January

Republic Day


March 2020

9 March



10 March

Holi / Doljatra 


April 2020

1 April

Annual Closing of Banks


13 April

Bohag Bihu 


14 April

Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti


15 April

Himachal Day


May 2020

1 May

May Day


25 May

Eid-ul Fitr


August 2020

1 August

Bakrid/ COVID-19 containment measure


15 August

Independence Day


20 August

Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva


October 2020

2 October

Gandhi Jayanti


17 October

Kati Bihu / Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi


24 October

Durga Puja / Dusshera


26 October

Vijaya Dashami


November 2020

14 November

Diwali / Kali Puja


December 2020

25 December

Christmas Eve


Also read: Complete List of Bank Holidays in India

Categories of Bank Holidays

The above list of bank holidays is updated from the official website of RBI and we will update if any changes in the holidays are made by the RBI. The holidays are categorized as below:

Bank’s Closing of Accounts:

1 April is declared as the bank’s holiday as the Annual closing of banks

Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act

According to Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act 1881, if the day is a maturity day and it comes on the public holiday, then the preceding day will be counted as the due date. 15 January, 26 January, 9 March, 10 March, 13 April, 15 April, 1 May, 20 August, 17 October, 24 October, 26 October, and 14 November are declared as holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881.     

Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday

On these days, the service of RTGs is not applicable and the days falling under this act are 14 April,  25 May, 1 August, 15 August, 2 October, and 25 December. 

Also read,

Bank Publication Prime is Back- Best Books for Bank Exams 2020

Click Here to Register for Bank Exams 2020 Preparation Material