Bank Holidays In Maharashtra 2021: List Of Maharashtra Bank Holidays

Maharashtra Bank Holidays 2021: The Reserve Bank of India had given the list of bank holidays for every regional office. We have created a separate list for Maharashtra state which is applicable for every bank and their branches in the state. Back in the year 2015, RBI had declared every month’s 2nd and 4th Saturdays as a public holiday for every bank and their branches. The bank shall remain closed on these days including the days depicted in the below-given table.

Also read; List of RBI Bank Holidays 2021 

List of Bank Holidays in Maharashtra

Find out the bank holidays in Maharashtra state for the year 2021 in the below-given table and plan your visit to the nearest bank likewise.

Also read; Complete List of Bank Holidays in India



26 Republic Day/Gaan-Ngai


19 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti


11 Mahashivratri (Maha Vad-13)
29 Holi (Second Day) – Dhuleti/Yaosang 2nd Day


1 To enable Banks to close their yearly accounts
2 Good Friday
13 Gudhi Padwa/Telugu New Year’s Day/Ugadi Festival/Sajibu Nongmapanba (Cheiraoba)/1st Navratra/Baisakhi
14 Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti/Tamil New Year’s Day/Vishu/Biju Festival/Cheiraoba/Bohag Bihu
21 Shree Ram Navmi (Chaite Dashain)/Garia Puja


1 Maharashtra Din/May Day (Labour Day)
13 Ramzan-Id (Id-Ul-Fitr) (Shawal-1)
26 Buddha Pournima


21 Bakri Id (Id-Ul-Zuha) (Eid-UI-Adha)


16 Parse New Year (Shahenshahi)
19 Muharram (Ashoora)


10 Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Vinayakar Chathurthi/Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata


2 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
15 Durga Puja/Dasara/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi)
19 Id-E-Milad/Eid-e-Miladunnabi/Milad-i-Sherif (Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday)/Baravafat


4 Diwali Amavasaya (Laxmi Pujan)/Deepavali/Kali Puja
5 Diwali (Bali Pratipada)/Vikram Samvant New Year Day/Govardhan Pooja
19 Guru Nanak Jayanti/Karthika Purnima


25 Christmas


Classification of Bank Holidays

Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act: The RBI had announced 26 January, 19 February, 21 February, 10 March, 25 March, 2 April, 6 April, 1 May, 7 May, 22 August, 14 November, 16 November, and 30 November has been classified as Holiday under Negotiable Instrument Act 1881. As per the act, any maturity day or any dues coming on these dates will be preceded to the next day.

Holidays under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holidays: Under this act, 10 April, 14 April, 25 May, 1 August, 1 August, 2 October, 30 October, and 25 December are declared as the dates when RTGs are not applicable in any of the banks.

Annual Bank Closing Day: 1st April has been decided as the annual bank closing day when every bank is closed.


Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to