Bank Holidays In Meghalaya 2020: List Of Meghalaya Bank Holidays

Meghalaya 2020: Check this article to know about the bank holidays of Meghalaya falling in the FY2020. These include both government holidays and public holidays. Besides these holidays banks will remain closed on 2nd & 4th Saturdays and all Sundays. These holidays are observed by every bank of Meghalaya and its branches. During these holidays online transactions or money withdrawal from ATMs will function properly in Meghalaya. 

You can also check; Complete List of Bank Holidays in India

List of bank holidays in Meghalaya 2020

Below is the RBI authenticated list of bank holidays in Meghalaya for the year 2020. Do check the complete list and learn about the bank holidays in Meghalaya state. The dates and days mentioned in the below table could be changed by RBI so stay updated with us and we will let you know if any change occurs in the bank holiday list of Meghalaya’s FY2020. 

Do read; RBI Bank Holidays 2020

Bank Holidays in Meghalaya 2020

Bank Holidays in Meghalaya 2020




January 2020

15 January



26 January

Republic Day


March 2020

9 March



10 March

Holi / Doljatra 


April 2020

1 April

Annual Closing of Banks


13 April

Bohag Bihu 


14 April

Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti


15 April

Himachal Day


May 2020

1 May

May Day


25 May

Eid-ul Fitr


August 2020

1 August

Bakrid/ COVID-19 containment measure


15 August

Independence Day


20 August

Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva


October 2020

2 October

Gandhi Jayanti


17 October

Kati Bihu / Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi


24 October

Durga Puja / Dusshera


26 October

Vijaya Dashami


November 2020

14 November

Diwali / Kali Puja


December 2020

25 December

Christmas Eve


Must read; Best Books for Bank Exams 2020

Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act

According to Holidays Under Negotiable Instruments Act 1881, if the day is a maturity day and it comes on the public holiday, then the preceding day will be counted as the due date. 15 January, 26 January, 9 March, 10 March, 13 April, 15 April, 1 May, 20 August, 17 October, 24 October, 26 October, and 14 November are declared as holidays under the Negotiable Instrument Act 1881.

Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holiday

On these days, the service of RTGs is not applicable and the days falling under this act are 14 April,  25 May, 1 August, 15 August, 2 October, and 25 December.

Bank’s Closing of Accounts:

1 April is declared as the bank’s holiday as the Annual closing of banks and the banks remain closed on this day.

SBI PO 2020 IBPS PO 2020 SBI Clerk 2020 IBPS Clerk 2020
RBI Grade B 2020 RBI Assistant 2020 LIC AAO & AE SEBI Grade A 2020

Click Here to Register for Bank Exams 2020 Preparation Material