1.    Zuma sworn in as South Africa’s President for second
i. Jacob Zuma was on Saturday sworn in as
South African President for a second term in the presence of thousands of
guests in Pretoria.

ii. Mr. Zuma, whose African
National Congress
won the May 7 elections with 62 per cent of the vote, was
sworn in by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng at the government complex Union
iii. More than 40 foreign leaders in
attendance included the Presidents of Nigeria, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South
Sudan, Somalia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Mauritius,
Madagascar and the Vice-Presidents of Gambia, Angola, Sudan and Gabon.
iv. The ceremony began with a gun salute and inter-faith
prayers, followed by a recital of the preamble of the Constitution.
2.    Project Mobile Seva under DeitY won the 2014 United
Nations Public Service Award
i. The
project Mobile Seva under Department of Electronics and Information Technology
(DeitY) won second rank in the 2014 United Nations Public Service Award.
Department of Electronics and Information Technology comes under Ministry of
Information and Technology
ii. Mobile Seva has won
the Second place in the Asian and Pacific Region in the Category 3: PROMOTING
from India selected as the winner in 2014.
iii. This award is very
unique and first of its kind to have been received by C-DAC Mumbai. The Mobile
Seva initiative is lead by Dr. Rajendra Kumar, joint secretary (e-Governance),
About United Nations
Public Service Awards

The United Nations
Public Service Awards is the most prestigious international recognition of
excellence in public service. It rewards the creative achievements and
contributions of public service institutions that lead to a more effective and
responsive public administration in countries worldwide. Through an annual
competition, the UN Public Service Awards promotes the role, professionalism
and visibility of public service. 
About Mobile Seva

Mobile Seva aimed
to provide government services to the people through mobile phones and tablets.
It was developed as the core infrastructure for enabling the availability of
public services through mobile devices. It was launched in December 2013.
3.    FICCI, IDBI sign pact for cheaper credit to
i. FICCI and IDBI on Friday signed an MoU for easy access
to organised finance facility at competitive interest rates for micro, small
and medium enterprise (MSME).
ii. The FICCI-CMSME and IDBI partnership will grant best
pricing offered at the relevant time by IDBI including concession of 100 bps
and charging of processing fee as low as 0.10 per cent to the proposals
referred by FICCI-CMSME, the industry chamber said in a statement.
iii. According to study by IFC
in November 2012 titled “MSME Finance in India”, despite the increase in
financing to MSMEs in recent years, there is still a considerable institutional
formal finance gap of Rs 20.9 trillion.
4.    Sharif to attend Modi’s swearing-in ceremony
i. Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif
will travel to India on Monday to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime
Minister-designate Narendra Modi, ending the suspense over his visit amid
reports that there was stiff opposition from hardliners in the establishment
ii. An official of the Prime Minister’s Office told PTI that
Sharif accepted the invitation and will visit India on Monday to attend Modi’s
oath-taking ceremony.
iii. Sharif’s delegation will include Advisor Sartaj Aziz,
Special Assistant Tariq Fatemi and Foreign Secretary Aizaz Chaudhry.
iv. Sharif and Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi will
have a bilateral meeting on May 27 before his return to Pakistan.
v. Sharif took time before making a decision as he wanted to
create consensus before travelling to Delhi.
5.    CPI(M) veteran Umanath passes away
i. Veteran CPI(M) leader
R.Umanath passed away in Tiruchi on Wednesday.
ii. His political activity
began from his student days. He was the youngest accused in Madras Conspiracy
iii. From an active trade union
leader he became a Parliamentarian, thereafter legislator and rose to become a
member of Polit Bureau of CPI(M). A pictorial tribute. Photos:
6.    Krishna Rao named Andhra Pradesh’s Chief Secretary
i. Mr. I.Y.R. Krishna Rao, Senior IAS
Officer (Andhra Pradesh cadre, 1979 batch) and presently serving as the Chief
Commissioner of Land Administration, has been named the Chief Secretary
designate for the successor State of Andhra Pradesh.
ii. Mr.Krishna Rao also called on the Governor
E.S.L.Narasimhan at Raj Bhavan on Saturday.
iii. Mr.Krishna Rao — who
held key posts in Revenue, Finance, Industries, Agriculture and served as
Tirumala Tirupathi Devasthanam Board Executive Officer — was one of the senior
officers in the reckoning for the post of Chief Secretary of united Andhra
7.    Shazia Ilmi, Capt Gopinath quit AAP
i. In a major setback to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), a key
founder member Shazia Ilmi quit the party on Saturday citing ‘lack of inner
party democracy”.
ii. Capt. G.R Gopinath, who launched the first Indian
low-cost carrier, also made an announcement to quit the Aam Aadmi Party.
iii. Addressing a crowded press conference here to announce
her resignation, Ilmi, who contested and lost the Delhi Assembly election as
well as the recent Lok Sabha election from Ghaziabad, blamed a ‘clique that had
encircled Kejriwal’ for her decision to quit.
8.    Indian-American student Akhil Rekulapelli won National
Geographic Bee Championship
i. Indian-American
student Akhil Rekulapelli on 21 May 2014 won the National Geographic Bee
championship in Washington, USA. 
ii. Ameya Mujumdar from Florida stood
second, while California’s Tuvya Bergson-Michelson finished third. Ameya
Mujumdar is also an Indian American student.
iii. Akhil won the 50000
US dollar college scholarship given to the winner of the National Geographic
Bee Championship.  Akhil also received a trip to the Galapagos Islands
with National Geographic’s Lindblad Expeditions
iv. The
National Geographic Bee is an annual geography contest sponsored by the
National Geographic Society. The bee, held every year since 1989, is open to
students in the fourth through eighth grade in participating American schools.