Daily GK Updates: 26th August 2014

1.    Four new Governors
i. Kalyan Singh has been appointed Governor of Rajasthan
ii. Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala appointed Governor of Karnataka
iii. Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao has been appointed Governor
of Maharashtra and
iv. Mridula Sinha appointed Governor of Goa.
ii. Maharashtra Governor’s post fell vacant yesterday when
incumbent K Sankaranarayanan resigned after he was transferred to Mizoram.

iii. Post of the Governor of Karnataka
has remained vacant since July end when former Law Minister H R Bhardwaj had
completed his five year tenure while the post of Rajasthan Governor fell vacant
after Margaret Alva completed her tenure early this month.

iv. Goa Governor’s post fell vacant
when former SPG chief B V Wanchoo resigned last month. 
2.    Kerala Governor Sheila Dikshit
i. Kerala Governor Sheila Dikshit
tendered her resignation on Tuesday, a day after she met President Pranab
Mukherjee and Home Minister Rajnath Singh.
The former Delhi
chief minister was appointed the Governor of Kerala by the UPA-II government
about five months ago.
Ms. Dikshit said she
will speak on the issue only after she gets an official word on the acceptance
of the resignation.
3.    EPFO retains interest rate on
provident fund at 8.75%
i. Employees Provident Fund Organization (EPFO) has decided
to retain interest rate on provident fund at 8.75 percent for the current

ii. A decision in this regard was taken at the meeting of the Central
Board of Trustees, the apex decision making body of the EPFO, in New Delhi
4.    Indian origin Seema Malhotra appointed
as Shadow Minister in U.K.
i. Indian
– Origin Seema Malhotra was appointed as Shadow Minister in U.K. on 25 August
2014. Seema Malhotra became the first MP from any party to be shadow Minister. 

ii. She belonged to Labour Party. Labour
Party appointed Seema Malhotra to tackle domestic violence and related issues
and to prevent violence against women and girls.

iii. She will replace Helen Jones. Helen
Jones resigned from the post of Shadow Minister in July 2014.  
5.    Shiv Nadar gets ICSI award for
corporate governance
i. Institute of Company Secretaries of India (ICSI) has
bestowed the ICSI Life Time Achievement Award 2013 for Excellence in Corporate
Governance to HCL Founder and Chairman Shiv Nadar.
ii. “HCL represents a culture of evolving globally acceptable
standards of corporate governance. We are pleased to felicitate Nadar for his
exemplary work in institution— building and good governance,” ICSI President CS
R Sridharan said.
6.    Ranjan Ben Bhatta is BJP’s candidate
for Vadodara LS seat
i. BJP today announced the name of Vadodara deputy mayor
Ranjan Ben Bhatta as its candidate for the Vadodara Lok Sabha seat vacated by
Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
ii. The party also announced the name of local municipal
corporator Suresh Patel as the candidate for the Maninagar Assembly
constituency that Modi represented as Chief Minister of Gujarat.
iii. It was widely speculated that BJP President Amit Shah
would be fielded from the seat, but Shah has decided not to contest keeping in
view the responsibility entrusted upon him in steering the party.
iv. The party has also declared the name of local leader Prem
Singh Shakya as the candidate for the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh
vacated by SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav.