FIFA FINAL: Germany beats Argentina, grabs Trophy

Germany has won the FIFA World Cup 2014 on 13th July 2014 by defeating Argentina in Finals at the Maracanã in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Germany’s Mario Goetze scored in the 113th minute to give Germany the world cup with a 1-0 win over Argentina. A total of 32 teams competed for FIFA World Cup 2014 from  12th June 2014 to 13th July 2014. This is Germany’s 4th Title (last time it won the title in the year 1990 – that too on Argentina), where Argentina has to satisfy as Runners-ups. Netherlands took third place and Brazil got Fourth place. With this win, Germany has become the first European team to ever win a World Cup in the Americas (North and South).

Below are some important details of FIFA 2014 should know –

  • Winner – Germany
  • Runners-up – Argentina
  • Top scorer – Colombia James Rodríguez with 6 goals
  • Best player (Golden Ball award) –  Lionel Messi of Argentina 
  • Best young player  – Paul Pogba of France 
  • Best goalkeeper (Golden Glove award) – Manuel Neuer of Germany
  • Golden Boot Award – James Rodríguez of Colombia