NITI Aayog – Objectives and Composition

The institution to give life
to these aspirations is the NITI Aayog (National Institution for
Transforming India)
  This is being proposed after extensive
consultation across the spectrum of stakeholders including inter alia state
governments, domain experts and relevant institutions.  The NITI Aayog
will work towards the following objectives:

  • To evolve a shared vision of
    national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active
    involvement of States in the light of national objectives. 
      The vision of the NITI Aayog will then provide a framework
    ‘national agenda’ for the Prime Minister and the Chief Ministers to provide
    impetus to.
  • To foster cooperative
    federalism through structured support initiatives and mechanisms with the
    States on a continuous basis, recognizing that strong States make a strong
  • To develop mechanisms to
    formulate credible plans at the village level and aggregate these progressively
    at higher levels of government.
  • To ensure, on areas that are
    specifically referred to it, that the interests of national security are
    incorporated in economic strategy and policy.
  • To pay special attention to
    the sections of our society that may be at risk of not benefitting adequately
    from economic progress.
  • To design strategic and long
    term policy and programme frameworks and initiatives, and monitor their
    progress and their efficacy.  The lessons learnt through monitoring and
    feedback will be used for making innovative improvements, including necessary
    mid-course corrections.
  • To provide advice and
    encourage partnerships between key stakeholders and national and international
    like-minded Think Tanks, as well as educational and policy research
  • To create a knowledge,
    innovation and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community
    of national and international experts, practitioners and other partners.
  • To offer a platform for
    resolution of inter-sectoral and inter-departmental issues in order to
    accelerate the implementation of the development agenda.
  • To maintain a state-of-the-art
    Resource Centre, be a repository of research on good governance and best
    practices in sustainable and equitable development as well as help their
    dissemination to stake-holders.
  • To actively monitor and
    evaluate the implementation of programmes and initiatives, including the
    identification of the needed resources so as to strengthen the probability of
    success and scope of delivery.
  • To focus on technology
    upgradation and capacity building for implementation of programmes and
  • To undertake other activities
    as may be necessary in order to further the execution of the national
    development agenda, and the objectives mentioned above

Aayog will comprise the following:

  • Prime Minister of India as the Chairperson
  • Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of
    all the States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories
  • Regional Councils will be formed to address
    specific issues and contingencies impacting more than one state or a
    region.  These will be formed for a
    specified tenure.  The Regional Councils
    will be convened by the Prime Minister and will comprise of the Chief Ministers
    of States and Lt. Governors of Union Territories in the region.  These will be chaired by the  Chairperson of the NITI Aayog or his nominee.
  • Experts, specialists and practitioners with
    relevant domain knowledge as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister
  • The full-time organizational framework will comprise of, in
    addition to the Prime Minister as the Chairperson:

i.  Vice-Chairperson: To be appointed by the
Prime Minister
ii. Members:
iii. Part-time
members: Maximum of 2 from leading universities research organizations and
other relevant institutions in an ex-officio capacity.  Part time members will be on a rotational
iv. Ex
Officio members: Maximum of 4 members of the Union Council of Ministers to be
nominated by the Prime Minister.
v. Chief
Executive Officer : To be appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed tenure,
in the rank of Secretary to the Government of India.

vi. Secretariat
as deemed necessary.