Frequently Asked questions of Static Awareness for IBPS Exams 2017

Dear Readers,


Prepare Static Awareness G.K. Questions for upcoming banking recruitment exams with this questionnaire of most expected and frequently asked static awareness question for IBPS SO Prelims, IBPS Clerk Mains 2017 other banking and insurance exams.

Q1. Santiago is the capital city of which among the following country?
(a) Ireland
(b) Chile
(c) Poland
(d) Nigeria
(e) Zimbabwe

S1. Ans. (b)
Sol. Chile is a South American country occupying a long, narrow strip of land between the Andes to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. Santiago, is the capital and largest city of Chile as well as one of the largest cities in the Americas.

Q2. Which of the following is the capital city of New Zealand?
(a) Managua
(b) Muscat
(c) Wellington
(d) Asuncion
(e) Oslo

S2. Ans. (c)
Sol. New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses—the North Island, and the South Island. Wellington has been the capital of New Zealand since 1865. New Zealand's first capital city was Old Russell in 1840–41. Auckland was the second capital from 1841 until 1865.

Q3. Capital city of Gabon is ____________________.
(a) Helsinki
(b) Tbilisi
(c) Accra
(d) Asuncion
(e) Libreville

S3. Ans. (e)
Sol. Gabon is a sovereign state on the west coast of Central Africa. Libreville is the capital and largest city of Gabon, in western central Africa. The city is a port on the Komo River, near the Gulf of Guinea, and a trade center for a timber region.

Q4. What is the capital of Argentina?
(a) Buenos Aires
(b) Yerevan
(c) Bridgetown
(d) Belmopan
(e) Porto-Novo

S4. Ans. (a)
Sol. Argentina is a federal republic in the southern portion of South America. Buenos Aires is the capital and most populous city of Argentina. The city is located on the western shore of the estuary of the Río de la Plata, on the South American continent's southeastern coast.

Q5. Oslo is the capital city of which country?
(a) Norway
(b) Malta
(c) Grenada
(d) Hungary
(e) Kosovo

S5. Ans. (a)
Sol. Norway is a sovereign state and unitary monarchy whose territory comprises the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula plus the remote island of Jan Mayen and the archipelago of Svalbard. Oslo is the capital and the most populous city in Norway. It constitutes both a county and a municipality.

Q6. Capital city of Morocco is ____________________.
(a) Ashgabat
(b) Rabat
(c) Ankara
(d) Majuro
(e) Kyiv

S6.  Ans.(b)
Sol. Morocco is a sovereign country located in the Maghreb region of North Africa. Geographically, Morocco is characterised by a rugged mountainous interior, large tracts of desert and a lengthy coastline along the Atlantic Ocean and Mediterranean Sea. Rabat is the capital city of Morocco and its second largest city.

Q7. Jakarta is the capital city of which among the following country?
(a) Azerbaijan
(b) Bahrain
(c) Indonesia
(d) Malaysia
(e) Rwanda

S7. Ans.(c)
Sol. Indonesia is a unitary sovereign state and transcontinental country located mainly in Southeast Asia, with some territories in Oceania. Situated between the Indian and Pacific oceans, it is the world's largest island country, with more than seventeen thousand islands. Jakarta is the capital of Indonesia, which was formerly known as Batavia during Dutch East Indies and Sunda Kelapa during Sunda Kingdom.

Q8. Which of the following is the capital city of Kuwait?
(a) Bishkek
(b) Kigali
(c) Tunis
(d) Kuwait City
(e) Hanoi

S8. Ans.(d)
Sol. Kuwait is a country in Western Asia. Situated in the northern edge of Eastern Arabia at the tip of the Persian Gulf, it shares borders with Iraq and Saudi Arabia. Kuwait City is the capital and largest city of Kuwait. Kuwait City is the political, cultural and economic center of Kuwait.

Q9. Capital city of Turkmenistan is ____________________.
(a) Tashkent
(b) Freetown
(c) Ashgabat
(d) Melekeok
(e) Warsaw

S9. Ans.(c)
Sol. Turkmenistan formerly known as Turkmenia, is a country in Central Asia, bordered by Kazakhstan to the northwest, Uzbekistan to the north and east, Afghanistan to the southeast, Iran to the south and southwest, and the Caspian Sea to the west. Ashgabat named Poltoratsk between 1919 and 1927, is the capital and the largest city of Turkmenistan in Central Asia.

Q10. What is the capital of Australia?
(a) Conakry
(b) Melbourne
(c) Sydney
(d) Sofia
(e) Canberra

S10. Ans.(e)
Sol. Australia is a sovereign country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and numerous smaller islands. It is the largest country in Oceania and the world's sixth-largest country by total area. Canberra is the capital city of Australia.

Q11. Havana is the capital city of which among the following country?
(a) Peru
(b) Jordan
(c) Lesotho
(d) Cuba
(e) Slovenia

S11.  Ans.(d)
Sol. Cuba is a country comprising the island of Cuba as well as Isla de la Juventud and several minor archipelagos. Cuba is located in the northern Caribbean where the Caribbean Sea, the Gulf of Mexico, and the Atlantic Ocean meet. Havana is the capital city, largest city, province, major port, and leading commercial center of Cuba.

Q12. Which of the following is the capital city of Italy?
(a) Rome
(b) Seoul
(c) Pristina
(d) Windhoek
(e) Bucharest

S12. Ans.(a)
Sol. Italy is a unitary parliamentary republic in Europe. Located in the heart of the Mediterranean Sea, Italy shares open land borders with France, Switzerland, Austria, Slovenia, San Marino and Vatican City. Rome is the capital of Italy and a special comune. Rome also serves as the capital of the Lazio region.

Q13. Which of the following is the capital city of Afghanistan?
(a) Vilnius
(b) Kabul
(c) Riga
(d) Asuncion
(e) Baku

S13. Ans.(b)
Sol. Afghanistan is a landlocked country located within South Asia and Central Asia. Kabul is the capital of Afghanistan as well as its largest city, located in the eastern section of the country.

Q14. Capital city of Syria is ____________________.
(a) Kampala
(b) Dushanbe
(c) Damascus
(d) Sanaa
(e) Warsaw

S14. Ans.(c)
Sol. Syria is a country in Western Asia, bordering Lebanon and the Mediterranean Sea to the west, Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan to the south, and Israel to the southwest. Damascus is the capital and likely the largest city of Syria, following the decline in population of Aleppo due to the battle for the city.

Q15. Caracas is the capital city of which among the following country?
(a) Guyana
(b) Panama
(c) Uruguay
(d) Samoa
(e) Venezuela

S15. Ans.(e)
Sol. Venezuela is a federal republic located on the northern coast of South America. Caracas is the capital, the center of the Greater Caracas Area, and the largest city of Venezuela. Caracas is located along the Guaire River in the northern part of the country.

Print Friendly and PDF