Bank Holidays 2020: Complete List of Bank Holidays in India

Every bank in India follows the schedule of holidays as declared by the RBI. The list of holidays is prepared as per the culture, religion of the particular state. Read out the article for state-wise bank holidays.

Bank Holidays 2020: There are different types of holidays and one such holidays is Bank Holidays in India and on this day all the banks observe holidays. There are different types of Bank holidays like: National Holidays, these are observe across the nation and the other is state specific which is observed in a specific state. In this space we will be providing you the complete Bank Holiday List 2020 in August. As per the decision made in 2015, it is mandatory for every bank to announce public holiday on every 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month. However, online or net banking facilities, several banking transactions such as money transfers, bill payments, etc. will be available on bank holidays, just branches of banks will remain closed. Read the complete article to learn more about bank holidays in India and also find state-wise bank holidays list for the financial year 2020.  

Nainital Bank Recruitment 2020: 155 PO & Clerk Vacancies In Nainital Bank Notification

About Course:

"Did you Know? In this pack you will get All new content we launch in the next 1 months"
 

This is the most recommended and NRA-CET ready Pack!
 
Use Code 'DREAM' to avail at the best price today

This package Includes IBPS PO Study Material -  Subscribe Now

About Bank Mahapack
If you are preparing for more than 1 Banking & Insurance exams then this is the pack we recommend you buy.

It is most cost-effective and you get access to 100% digital content for Bank & Insurance exams on Adda247.

Banking & Insurance Exams Covered in this Pack

Additionally, you can crack any private bank job exam with content in this pack.

 

Bank & Insurance Mahapack Highlights 

  • Structured course content
  • Recorded classes available if you miss any live class
  • Previous Years’ Papers of all upcoming exams.
  • Full Length Mocks based on the latest pattern with detailed solutions (video solutions for certain topics)
  • Topic level knowledge tests
  • Strategy sessions, time management & Preparation tips from the experts

 

Validity: 1 Month

Bank Maha Pack
  1. Unlimited Live Classes & Recorded Video Courses
  2. Unlimited Tests and eBooks
  3. 1 Lakh+ Selections
Validity
  1. 15 Months
  2. 9 Months
  3. 3 Months
  4. 27 Months
  5. 1 Month
8899 593/month
BUY NOW

The main significance of providing bank holidays is to give a work-life balance to all the bank employees. On the bank holidays, the bank customers will not be able to transact or deposit at any of the bank branches all over India. 

Do check; RBI List of Bank Holidays 2020

Statewise Bank Holidays 2020 in India

Each state has its own specific events or festivals, depending on these RBI has released state-wise bank holiday lists. State governments decide specific holidays based on their regional and cultural significance. Click on the link of the state for which you are looking and you will be taken to the page of that particular state depicting its Bank Holidays 2020 in India.

RBI Releases National Strategy For Financial Education: 2020-2025

State-wise Bank Holidays 2020
Sno Name of the State Direct Links
1 Andhra Pradesh Bank Holidays in Andhra Pradesh
2 Arunachal Pradesh Bank Holidays in Arunachal Pradesh
3 Assam Bank Holidays in Assam
4 Bihar Bank Holidays in Bihar
5 Chhattisgarh Bank Holidays in Chhattisgarh
6 Goa Bank Holidays in Goa
7 Gujarat Bank Holidays in Gujarat
8 Haryana Bank Holidays in Haryana
9 Himachal Pradesh Bank Holidays in Himachal Pradesh
10 Jharkhand Bank Holidays in Jharkhand
11 Karnataka Bank Holidays in Karnataka
12 Kerala Bank Holidays in Kerala
13 Madhya Pradesh Bank Holidays in Madhya Pradesh
14 Maharashtra Bank Holidays in Maharashtra
15 Manipur Bank Holidays in Manipur
16 Meghalaya Bank Holidays in Meghalaya
17 Mizoram Bank Holidays in Mizoram
18 Nagaland Bank Holidays in Nagaland
19 Odisha Bank Holidays in Odisha
20 Punjab Bank Holidays in Punjab
21 Rajasthan Bank Holidays in Rajasthan
22 Sikkim Bank Holidays in Sikkim
23 Tamil Nadu Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu
24 Telangana Bank Holidays in Telangana
25 Tripura Bank Holidays in Tripura
26 Uttar Pradesh Bank Holidays in Uttar Pradesh
27 Uttarakhand Bank Holidays in Uttarakhand
28 West Bengal Bank Holidays in West Bengal

Do read;

IBPS PO Prelims 2020 Mini Mock Test Series IBPS RRB Mini Mock Test 2020 For Prelims Exam: IBPS RRB PO & Clerk Mock Test PDF What Should Be Expected Good Attempts For IBPS RRB PO And Clerk Prelims Exams? “List of Important Days & Dates 2020: National and International Days & Events “

List of Bank Holidays in India 2020

Given below is the list of Bank holidays in India 2020:

DAY DATE Bank Holidays 2020
Saturday Jan 11, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Jan 25, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Sunday Jan 26, 2020 Republic Day
Saturday Feb 08, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Feb 22, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Tuesday Mar 10, 2020 Holi
Saturday Mar 14, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Mar 28, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Thursday Apr 02, 2020 Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts
Monday Apr 06, 2020 Mahavir Jayanti
Friday Apr 10, 2020 Good Friday
Saturday Apr 11, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Apr 25, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Thursday May 07, 2020 Buddha Purnima
Saturday May 09, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday May 23, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Monday May 25, 2020 Eid al-Fitr
Saturday Jun 13, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Jun 27, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Jul 11, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Jul 25, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Friday Jul 31, 2020 Eid-al-Zuha
Saturday Aug 08, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Tuesday Aug 11, 2020 Sri Krishna Janmastami
Wednesday Aug 12, 2020 Janamashtmi
Saturday Aug 15, 2020 Independence Day
Saturday Aug 22, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Sunday Aug 30, 2020 Muharram
Saturday Sep 12, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Sep 26, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Friday Oct 02, 2020 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Saturday Oct 10, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Oct 24, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Monday Oct 26, 2020 Dussehra
Friday Oct 30, 2020 Eid-e-Milad
Saturday Nov 14, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Saturday Nov 14, 2020 Deepavali / Diwali
Saturday Nov 28, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday
Monday Nov 30, 2020 Guru Nanak Jayanti
Saturday Dec 12, 2020 2nd Saturday Bank Holiday
Friday Dec 25, 2020 Christmas
Saturday Dec 26, 2020 4th Saturday Bank Holiday

Check List of Important Days in 2020:

May Day June 2020 July 2020 August 2020

Types of Bank Holidays 2020

There are two types of Bank Holidays :

  • National Holidays
  • Government Holidays.

National Holidays refers to the those holidays which are applicable all across the nation and India observes three national holidays that include:

1) Republic Day

2) Independence Day

3) Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. 

Government holidays can be further classified into State government bank holidays and Central Government bank holidays. State government bank holidays may differ amid Indian states whereas Central Government bank holidays are more commonly observed across the country. For ex- Lui-Ngai-Ni Day is a bank holiday in Manipur while Sonam Losar Day is a bank holiday in Sikkim, Similarly there are many states bank holidays based on the states.

Also check; Best books to prepare for bank exams

State specified Bank Holidays are given below:

Date Day Name of Holiday States Celebrated
January 2020
2 January 2020 Thursday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Haryana, Rajasthan
Mannam Jayanthi Kerala
12 January 2020 Sunday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
15 January 2020 Wednesday Bhogi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana
Tusu Puja Assam
16 January 2020 Thursday Thiruvallavur Day Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
Kanuma Pandunga Andhra Pradesh
23 January 2020 Thursday Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha
25 January 2020 Saturday Sonam Losar Sikkim
Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh
30 January 2020 Thursday Vasant Panchami West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha, Haryana, Punjab
February 2020
9 February 2020 Sunday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh
19 February 2020 Wednesday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra
20 February 2020 Thursday Statehood Day Arunachal Pradesh
State Day Mizoram
March 2020
5 March 2020 Thursday Panchayatiraj Divas Odisha
6 March 2020 Friday Chapchar Kut Mizoram
8 March 2020 Sunday Hazrat Ali’s birthday Uttar Pradesh
22 March 2020 Sunday Bihar Diwas Bihar
23 March 2020 Monday S. Bhagat Singh’s Martyrdom Day Punjab and Haryana
25 March 2020 Wednesday Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Maharashtra
Gudi Padwa Maharashtra
April 2020
1 April 2020 Wednesday Odisha Day Odisha
9 April 2020 Thursday Maundy Thursday Kerala
11 April 2020 Saturday Easter Saturday Nagaland
12 April 2020 Sunday Easter Sunday Several states
13 April 2020 Monday Bohag Bihu Assam
Vaisakh Haryana, Jharkhand, and Punjab
14 April 2020 Tuesday Vishu Kerala
Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh
Bengali New Year West Bengal, Tripura
Puthandu Tamil New Year
Mahabishubha Sankranti Odisha
Ashoka’s birth anniversary Bihar
15 April 2020 Wednesday Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh
25 April 2020 Saturday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti Several states
Basava Jayanti Karnataka
May 2020
1 May 2020 Friday Maharasthra Day Maharashtra
8 May 2020 Friday Guru Rabindranath Jayanti West Bengal, Tripura
16 May 2020 Saturday State Day Sikkim
20 May 2020 Wednesday Shab-i-Qadr Jammu and Kashmir
22 May 2020 Friday Jumatul Bidah Jammu and Kashmir
June 2020
15 June 2020 Monday Raja Sankranti Odisha
23 June 2020 Tuesday Ratha Yatra Odisha
July 2020
5 July 2020 Sunday Guru Purnima Festival Many States
16 July 2020 Thursday Bonalu Telangana
23 July 2020 Thursday Haryali Teej Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh
31 July 2020 Friday Shaheed Udham Singh’s Martyrdom Day Haryana and Punjab
August 2020
15 August 2020 Saturday Independence Day All over India
17 August 2020 Monday Parsi New Year Maharashtra and Gujarat
28 August 2020 Friday Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
28 August 2020 Friday Ayyankali Jayanthi Rajasthan
31 August 2020 Monday Thiruvonam Kerala
September 2020
1 September 2020 Tuesday Indra Jatra Sikkim
2 September 2020 Wednesday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
October 2020
31 October 2020 Saturday Lakshmi Puja West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha
November 2020
1 November 2020 Sunday Kannada Rajyotsava Karnataka
Kerala Piravi Kerala
Puducherry Liberation Day Puducherry
Haryana Day Haryana
20 November 2020 Friday Chhath Puja Jharkhand, Bihar
December 2020
19 December 2020 Saturday Liberation Day Goa

Also Read,

RTGS and NEFT Holidays 2020

RTGS is an acronym used  for Real Time Gross Settlement whereas NEFT is an acronym used for National Electronic Funds Transfer. Both RTGS and NEFT allow people to transfer cash from one bank to another as per the RBI guidelines. The Reserve Bank of India maintains both NEFT and RTGS.

Holiday Date Day
Republic Day 26 January 2020 Sunday
Good Friday 19 April 20 Friday
Independence Day 15 August 2020 Saturday
Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti 2 October 2020 Friday
Christmas 25 December 2020 Friday

Note: The services of RTGS and NEFT can be used by a individual on other types of bank holidays. If an individual transfers money on a bank holiday, money gets credited to the receiver’s account but the sender may get the receipt on the following bank working day and not on the same day of transfer.

How Bank holidays are decided in India?

The bank holidays are decided by the central government, the state government and the Union territories in India considering multiple factors.

India is a national with variety of culture and that is why we have other type of holidays as well along with the National holidays to keep the sentiments of all people from different nook and corner together. Some holiday are decided by the state government based on the importance of that day for that particular state people and is not applicable anywhere else in the nation. Good Friday, Christmas, Diwali are Some of the central government holidays.

Features of Bank Holidays in India

a) Public or bank holidays  differ from state to state. However, Bank holidays on 2nd and 4th Saturday remain uniform.

b) In case there are  5 Saturdays in the month, then the bank would work on  5th Saturday and there will be no holiday.

c) There are some states that even have holidays for the birth or death anniversary of a particular religious leader, while others may not. So, there is no uniformity that is followed between all the states based on this.

d) If some public or bank holidays that fall on a Monday or Friday, then you get a higher number of holidays if you avail leave of them together.

e) Government holidays does not necessarily mean that the bank would always remain closed and vice versa. Gazetted holidays, bank holidays, public holidays and government holidays are ways to describe the different holidays in India and hence should not be confused.

f)Well, it is always a good idea to check the holidays in advance before you plan how to spend them. You can  take a look at the list that we have given you. Make sure to bookmark the page.

Personality Development Tips For Bank Interview 2020

Discover India During a Bank Holiday 2020

Banks holidays are the best way to know more about your country as you can go and visit new places and enjoy some time with your family and friends. You can also read various books, documentaries, which you read or see during a bank holiday in India.

There are several books written on Indian Heritage and culture by great authors. You can Google and read the review about them. Here are few recommended books which you can try during a bank holiday in India.

You can also read online about a certain place and discover more about it by seeing a video on it on YouTube. This will enhance your knowledge about your nation and you can also plan a family trip to visit that place later on and you can lead the troop as well because you have gained enough knowledge about it.

Keep yourself fit

Yes! now you can give rest to all the excuses that you have been making for so long and can finally go to gym or do yoga. Bank holidays can be great time to give yourself some me time. You can go for jogging in the evening if not in morning because now you are home. Try to eat healthy when you are at home. There are lot of organisation that conducts free yoga sessions for people, you can join them as well but make sure that you are doing something physical to keep yourself fit and healthy. Do not enjoy your bank holiday by sleeping or by just sitting on the couch. Make sure that you are doing something prodcutive for yourself that is helping you to keep yourself fit and healthy.

Also Check,

Is RBI Grade B Officer Gazetted? English Speech: Commonly Mispronounced words Basic English Grammar Rules of Nouns What is IBPS PO Salary?

Click Here to Register for Bank Exams 2020 Preparation Material

Practice With,

FAQ: Bank Holidays 2020

Q. What are the bank holidays 2020 in India?

Ans. Given above is the list of all the bank holidays for 2020.

Q. What Saturdays are bank holidays in India?

Ans. Generally, second and fourth Saturdays of the month are holidays.

Q. How many bank holidays are there in May?

Ans. There are four bank holidays in May 2020.