Latest Banking jobs   »   Magsaysay Award: History And Winner

Magsaysay Award: History And Winner

Magsaysay Award: History And Winner |_20.1
The Journalist Ravish Kumar is awarded by the most prestigious award which is given to Communists or anarchist people around the world. NDTV’s Ravish Kumar, on past Friday, was named for the prestigious Ramon Magsaysay Award for hitching up the journalism to provide a voice to the voiceless, giving a new shape to the ethics of journalism and for performing unfaltering commitment to the profession. Five members from Asia, have been awarded for the same, and Ravish Kumar is one among them to receive the same honor of pride that best describes that greatness of spirit and reframing leadership in Asia.
“If you have become the voice of the people you are a journalist,” says Ravish Kumar, who is a clear-headed, person with balanced values and believe in fact-based reporting. In electing him for the Magsaysay award, the board of trustees concedes his dedication towards the profession, his ethical values, moral courage in standing up for truth and the way he gives respectful voice to the voiceless in speaking truth bravely yet soberly to power, that journalism fulfills its noblest aims to advance democracy,” says the citation by the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation.
Ravish Kumar, 44, is a senior executive editor at NDTV, has now become the most influential TV journalist citation said. He is among those five winners who are declared as the winner of the Magsaysay award. Kumar’s “Prime Time” program “deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people”, it added.

What is the Magsaysay award? and to whom it is given?

It is an annual award given to Communists or anarchist people around the world. It is given in the memory of  Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay’s like the example of Integrity of governance. It is given to the courageous people and pragmatic idealism within a democratic society. The award was started in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund formally based in New York City with the accreditation of the Philippine government. 

Who are the winners of Magsaysay award 2019 besides Ravish Kumar?

  • Ko Swe Win (Myanmar)– He is a defender of Human rights and works with Myanmar now news agency as the chief editor. 
  • Angkhana Neelapajit (Thailand)– He is an activist of human rights and a defender of leading human rights in southern Thailand.
  • Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab (Philippines)- He is a musician and has served on the music faculty of the University of the Philippines. He has also conducted free workshops for a number of students across the country.
  • Kim Jong-Ki (South Korea)– He is an activist and working for violence and mental health issues in youth. He is also an agrarian leader of South Korean movement who pioneered wasteland cultivation and strove to demonstrate through his work that life as a farmer can be fulfilling and productive.

Download your free content now!


Magsaysay Award: History And Winner |_40.1

Union Budget 2023-24: Free PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

Magsaysay Award: History And Winner |_50.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Union Budget 2023-24: Free PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *