SSC CGL Syllabus 2021: Check Detailed Syllabus For Tier 1, 2, 3 & 4

The Staff Selection Commission released an official notification of SSC CGL 2020-21 On 29th December 2020 and has open the online application window till 31 January 2021. Candidates who will be appearing for this exam must get familiar with the Detailed syllabus of SSC CGL 2021 to start their preparations accordingly. In this article, we will be discussing the SSC CGL Syllabus 2021 in detail for Tier1, 2, 3 & 4.

Check SSC CGL 2020-21 Notification

SSC CGL Syllabus 2021

The SSC will conduct the SSC CGL 2020-21 Combined Graduate Level (CGL) examination in 4 Tiers: Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3, and Tier 4, just like every year. Now we will be discussing the detailed syllabus for all the Tiers, but before let us look at the overview of them

  • Tier 1: Objective Multiple Choice
  • Tier 2: Objective Multiple Choice
  • Tier 3: Descriptive Paper in Hindi/ English
  • Tier 4: Computer Proficiency Test/ Skill Test

SSC CGL Syllabus For Tier 1

The SSC CGL Tier 1 exam will be divided into four sections/subjects. Normalization will be done by SSC if an exam is conducted in multiple shifts. Let us first look at the Exam Pattern of the SSC CGL Tier 1 exam and then discuss the detailed syllabus.

SSC CGL Tier 1: Exam Pattern

Sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
General Intelligence and Reasoning 25 50 A cumulative time of 60 minutes (80 minutes for disable/Physically handicapped Candidates)
General Awareness 25 50
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
Total 100 200

SSC CGL Tier 1: Section-wise Syllabus

General Intelligence and Reasoning General Awareness Quantitative Aptitude English Comprehension
Classification Static General Knowledge Simplification Reading Comprehension
Analogy Science Interest Cloze Test
Coding-Decoding Current Affairs Averages Spellings
Paper Folding Method Sports Percentage Phrases and Idioms
Matrix Books and Authors Ratio and Proportion One word Substitution
Word Formation Important Schemes Problem on Ages Sentence Correction
Venn Diagram Portfolios Speed, Distance, and Time Error Spotting
Direction and Distance People in the News Number System Fill in the Blanks
Blood Relations History Mensuration Active/Passive
Series Geography Data Interpretation Narrations
Verbal reasoning Economic Time and Work  
Non-Verbal Reasoning Awards and Honors Algebra  
  Economic Trigonometry  


SSC CGL Tier-I Book Kit (English Printed Edition)

SSC CGL Syllabus For Tier 2

The SSC will release a category-wise Cut-off for the tier 1 exam of SSC CGL. Candidates who will meet the cut-off marks will be qualified to give the Tier 2 exam. Below are the detailed exam pattern and syllabus for SSC CGL 2021 Tier 2

SSC CGL Tier 2: Exam Pattern

sections No. of Questions Total Marks Time Allotted
Quantitative Ability 100 200 120 minutes (160 minutes for disable/Physically handicapped Candidates)
English Language and Comprehension 200 200
Statistics 100 200
General Studies (Finance and Economics) 100 200


SSC CGL Tier 2: Section-wise Syllabus

Quantitative Aptitude English Language Statistics General Awareness
Simplification Reading Comprehension Collection and Representation of Data Finance and Accounting
Interest Spelling Measure of Dispersion Fundamental Principles
Averages Fill in the Blanks A measure of Central Tendency Financial Accounting
Percentage Phrases and Idioms Moments, Skewness and Kurtosis Basic Concepts of Accounting
Ratio and Proportion One Word Substitution Correlation and Regression Self-Balancing Ledger
Speed, Distance, and Time Sentence Correction Random Variables Error Spotting and Correction
Number System Error Spotting Random Variables  
Mensuration Cloze Test Sampling Theory Economics and Governance
Data Interpretation Para Jumbles Analysis and Variance Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Time and Work Synonyms-Antonyms Time Series Analysis Finance Commission
Algebra Active-Passive Voice Index Number Theory of Demand and Supply
Data Sufficiency  

SSC CGL TIER-II eBooks Kit (English Edition)

SSC CGL Syllabus For Tier 3

After qualifying for Tier 1 and Tier-2 exam, candidates have to appear for a descriptive paper in Tier 3. Below is the overview of Tier 3 of the SSC CGL 2021 Exam.

  • Subject: Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application, etc.)
  • Marks: 100 Marks
  • Time Duration: 1 hour or 60 minutes(80 minutes for PWD category)
  • Qualifying Marks: 33 marks/ 33 Percent

SSC CGL Syllabus For Tier 4

The Tier 4 of SSC CGl 2021Will be qualifying in nature and no marks will be rewarded in this Tier. It will be a Computer Skill Test  that will be conducted in two stages:

  1. Skill Test in Data Entry (DEST) Test: Candidates will be writing an article in English of 2000 words in 15 minutes, on a computer. The typing skills of the candidate will be judged.This test is taken for the post of tax assistant Central excise and income tax.
  2. Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) Test: This exam is taken for the post of CSS, MEA, Inspector (Central excise), Inspector (Preventive Officer), Inspector (Examiner). Candidates will be judged on their proficiency in word processing, spreadsheets, and the generation of slides.

Download the SSC CGL Capsule for General Awareness & Science for Beginner’s