Armed Forces (Special Powers) Acts

Armed Forces (Special Powers) Acts are the special powers grant to the indian armed forces in order to tackle any suspicious or disastrous situation in some part of indian territories. For the first time AFSPA was passed on  September 11, 1958 and was applicable to the Naga Hills, then part of Assam. Later it spread to the other Seven Sister States in India's northeast. Next one was passed in 1983 and applicable to Punjab and Chandigarh but it was withdrawn in 1997. In 1990 , it was applied to Jammu and Kashmir and has been in force since.

For more Click here.

No comments