Current Affairs Questions (based on The Hindu) for IBPS RRB Mains 2016

Q1. Who has been conferred with the International Press Freedom Award for reporting from Chhattisgarh's Naxal-infested Bastar area?
(a) Yudhvir Singh Malik
(b) Malini Subramaniam
(c) Akshaya Mukul 
(d) Hari Prasad Chourasia
(e) Pankaj R Patel

Q2. The _________ World Robot Olympiad will be organised jointly by NCSM under the aegis of Ministry of Culture and India STEM Foundation (ISF) from 25 November to 27 November 2016 at the India Expo Mart, Greater Noida, India.
(a) 09th
(b) 32nd
(c) 04th
(d) 13th
(e) 20th

Q3. The Colombian Government signed a revised peace agreement with the country's largest rebel movement, Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC) making a second attempt within months to end a half century of hostilities. Who is the present President of Colombia?
(a) Juan Manual Santos
(b) Tony Tan Keng Yam
(c) Lee Hsien Loong
(d) Tshering Tobgay
(e) None of the above

Q4. Which of the following banks has announced a partnership with Gujarat State Road Transport Corporation (GSRTC) to digitise payment of bus tickets for its customers?
(a) Bandhan Bank
(b) Bank of Baroda
(c) ICICI Bank
(d) State Bank of India
(e) YES Bank

Q5. Which country has launched the Tianlian I-04 satellite from the Xichang Satellite Launch Centre?
(a) India
(b) USA
(c) China
(d) Japan 
(e) Bhutan

Q6. In the wake of demonetisation, bank deposits with the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) have reached a record high of ___________ beating the earlier record of Rs. 1.7 trillion in May 2009. 
(a) Rs 4.3 trillion
(b) Rs 12.3 trillion
(c) Rs 10.6 trillion
(d) Rs 9.1 trillion
(e) Rs 8.7 trillion

Q7. In order to absorb the surge in liquidity in banking system following demonetisation of high value notes, the Reserve Bank introduced an incremental Cash Reserve Ratio (CRR) of 100 per cent for the fortnight which began from 26th November 2016. Currently it is at how much per cent?
(a) 6.25 per cent
(b) 4.00 per cent
(c) 5.75 per cent
(d) 20.25 per cent
(e) 6.75 per cent

Q8. Which among the following states has announced that the state government has allowed the use of old Rs500 currency notes for purchasing stamp papers until December 15, 2016?
(a) Bihar
(b) Goa
(c) Uttar Pradesh
(d) Assam
(e) Kerala

Q9. Which state has introduced a strict law against placement agencies to rein in those involved in exploiting people on the pretext of giving employment outside the state? 
(a) Gujarat
(b) Kerala
(c) Maharashtra
(d) Jharkhand
(e) West Bengal

Q10. Assam's picturesque hill station Haflong will host the three-day _____________ next month when tourists can indulge in a number of adventure sports like trekking, hiking, angling and satiate their taste buds by gulping one of the best traditional brews of the region.
(a) Anshus Feastival
(b) Sourya Festival
(c) Gaurish Festival
(d) Bihu Festival
(e) Judima Festival

Q11. Which among the following countries was the most searched country by Indian travellers in 2016, with travel searches increasing by 52% this year when compared to 2015, according to a new Skyscanner survey? 
(a) Singapore
(b) Denmark
(c) Switzerland
(d) Australia
(e) New Zealand

Q12. Name the Cuba’s former president, Who has passed away recently?
(a) William Trevor 
(b) MGK Menon
(c) Ivan Mikoyan 
(d) Fidel Castro
(e) None of the above

Q13. The Government has constituted a new committee to form a strategy to expedite the process of transforming India into a cashless economy. The committee will be headed by ______________. 
(a) Jagdish Singh Khehar
(b) Radhika Menon 
(c) Amitabh Kant
(d) Yudhvir Singh Malik
(e) Pankaj R Patel

Q14. Name the Bank, which has launched contactless debit card which is based on Near Field Communication (NFC) technology?
(a) State Bank of India
(b) South Indian Bank
(c) Kotak Mahindra Bank
(d) IDFC Bank
(e) Bandhan Bank

Q15. Celebrated Indian boxer ____________  is all set to add another honour to her glittering career when she/he receives the 'Legends Award' from the International Boxing Association (AIBA) on its 70th anniversary on December 20, 2016?
(a) M C Mary Kom
(b) Vijender Singh
(c) Manoj Kumar
(d) Laishram Sarita Devi
(e) Sarjubala Devi

No comments