Narendra Modi appointed New PM
of India
i. Narendra Modi will be
sworn in as India’s 15th Prime Minister at 6 pm on May 26.
ii. Narendra Modi, who steered BJP and the NDA to a landslide victory in the
Lok Sabha elections has been appointed Prime Minister on Tuesday, ushering in a
new era of a non-Congress government with an absolute majority on its own in 30

“I came to call on the President. The President
has given me a formal letter (of appointment as the PM) and has invited me for
oath-taking ceremony on May 26 at 6 pm as we had earlier decided,” Modi
told the media emerging from the meeting with the President Pranab Mukherjee.
iv. Modi’s call on the
President came after he was unanimously elected leader of the BJP Parliamentary
Party and later at a combined meeting of the BJP and its allies constituting
the NDA as leader of the coalition. 
v. “The President
will administer the oath of office and secrecy on May 26 at 6 PM at Rashtrapati
Bhawan,” President’s spokesman Venu Rajamony said. 
vi. Earlier the President greeted Modi on his landslide
victory. “Welcome, welcome, welcome,” Mukherejee said, receiving a
bouquet from Modi. 
Jitan Ram Manjhi new Bihar CM 
i. The
Janata Dal (United) on Monday named 
Bihar SC/ST
minister Jitan Ram Manjhi to succeed 
Nitish Kumar as
Chief Minister. Manjhi is a member of the mahadalit community.
ii. This comes in the
wake of Nitish Kumar’s resignation as the CM. Kumar resigned on Saturday taking
moral responsibility of his party’s poor show in the Lok Sabha election.
iii. Governor D.Y. Patil
administered the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Mr. Manjhi at a function at the
Rajbhawan in Patna.
iv. Mr. Manjhi’s cabinet
will have two new faces, Dulal Chandra Goswami and Vinay Bihari, both
independents who have extended support to JD(U) government.
Banks to stage nationwide demonstrations on May 23
i. Unhappy with the P J Nayak Committee panel report
suggesting privatisation of public sector banks, five bank employees unions
today decided to stage nationwide demonstrations on 23rd May. 
ii. “We oppose the Reserve Bank of India appointed
Committee, with P J Nayak as its Chairman, which recommended privatisation of
public sector banks and reduction of government’s capital to less than 50 per
said C H Venkatachalam, General Secretary of All India Bank
Employees Association (AIBEA) representing employees of public and private
sector banks. 

iii. We will take out countrywide demonstrations on May
23,” he added, demanding the rejection of the report. 

iv. The
report has also recommended merger of public sector banks, ownership of
government banks to be transferred to investment companies and public sector
banks to be kept out of the RTI Act. 
iv. Besides, it suggested that the government issue regulatory
instructions to banks, and they be covered by the Companies Act. 

v. “In
short, the committee wants removal of government control and banks to be handed
over to private hands. To express our strong protest and objection to the Nayak
Committee recommendations and to demand rejection of the report. Mass demonstrations
will be held throughout the country on May 23”, he said in a statement. 

vi. Besides AIBEA, All India Bank Officers’ Association, Bank
Employees Federation of India, Indian National Bank Employees Federation,
Indian National Bank Officers Congress would also participate in the
demonstration on that day, he said. 
All Planning Commission members submit their resignations
i. All members of the Planning Commission have
submitted their resignations to the Prime Minister’s Office paving the way for
reconstitution of the institution.
ii. Besides Deputy
Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia, the other full time members of the Commission
are B K Chaturvedi, Saumitra Chaudhuri, Syeda Hameed, Narendra Jadhav, Abhijit
Sen, Mihir Shah, K Kasturirangan and Arun Maira. 

iii. As
per the practice all members of the Commission submit their resignations to the
Prime Minister who is the head of the institution after the general elections. 
iv. The term of members
of the Planning Commission is co-terminus with the government. 
v. The new government
will decide on the reconstitution of the Commission. This Commission has
drafted the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17) which envisages an annual average
economic growth of 8 percent during the policy period. 
5.    Brazil honoured 100 years of Indian cinema by
releasing two postage stamps
i. To pay
tribute to the 100 years of Indian cinema, Brazil on 5 May 2014 released two
postage stamps designed by an Indian graphic designer. The stamp was released
in Brasilia to mark the Indian Cinema Film Festival which is dedicated to
contemporary Indian cinemas. 
ii. The postage stamps have been designed by Kochi-based graphic
designer Satya Raj and were released by India’s Ambassador to Brazil, Ashok
Tomar along with Anand Jyothi and Carina Bini Palackapilly, the curators and
directors of the festival.
6.    Novak Djokovic won the Men’s Italian Tennis Open 2014
for the third time
i. Novak Djokovic won the men’s Italian Tennis Open 2014
held in Rome, Italy on 18 May 2014. Novak of Serbia defeated Rafael Nadal of
Spain 4-6, 6-3 and 6-3 in the final. This is Novak’s third Italian Open and his
44th title overall.
ii. The Italian Open won by Novak’s was his
19th career Masters Title and his 19th win against Nadal in 41 meetings.
7.    Serena Williams won the Women’s Italian Tennis Open
2014 for the third time
Serena Williams of US won the Women’s Italian Tennis Open 2014 on 18 May 2014.
She defeated World No. 11 Sara Errani of Italy 6-3, 6-0 in the final held in
Rome, Italy.
ii. This was the third Italian Open won by Serena. For the
first time she won the Italian Open in 2002 and the second Italian Open was won
by her in 2013.
8.    N Srinivasan, the veteran nuclear scientist died
i. N.Srinivasan, one of the pioneers of the Indian atomic
energy programme and the first project director of Indira Gandhi Centre for
Atomic Research (IGCAR), passed away in Chennai on Sunday due to cardiac
arrest, the IGCAR said. He was 84.
ii. Joining the country’s nuclear establishment in 1953,
Srinivasan was the design engineer for the plutonium plant at Trombay, and he
established the indigenous technology for reprocessing of spent fuels from
thermal reactors.
Virat Kohli Rated World’s Second Most
Marketable Athlete
i. Indian batting star Virat Kohli has
been rated second behind British Formula One racer Lewis Hamilton in the list
of most marketable athletes by the UK magazine, ‘SportsPro’.   
ii. The list, driven by marketing
potential over the next three years based on value for money, age, home market,
charisma, willingness to be marketed and crossover appeal, has Virat as the
only Indian sportsperson in the June edition of the London-based
iii. Former England batsman and Delhi
Daredevils skipper Kevin Pietersen (35) is the only cricketer other than Kohli,
25, to featured in the top-50 list.     
iv. Brazilian soccer star Neymar, who
topped the chart in the previous two editions of the magazine, has now slipped
to the seventh spot.    
Vilas Paswan elected as LJP parliamentary party leader
i. Lok Janshakti Party, LJP Chief Ram Vilas Paswan has been
elected parliamentary party leader of his party. 

ii. LJP MP Mehboob Ali Kaiser
proposed his name at a meeting of the six MPs elected from Bihar in the Lok
Sabha polls. Mr Paswan’s party has staged a come back this time. 
iii. After scoring a duck in last
Lok Sabha poll, which LJP had fought in alliance with RJD, Mr Paswan’s party
won six of the seven seats it contested in Bihar in alliance with BJP.