List of Prime Ministers of India From 1947-2020

Prime Minister is the head of the government or the real head of the government. Under Article 75 of the Indian Constitution, The prime minister is appointed by the President of India and under article 78 the power of prime minister is laid in the constitution. In India, Prime Minister is the leader of the Cabinet Ministers and exercises the main executive powers of the government while the President is just the nominal head of the State. It is the Prime Minister who determines the dates of its meetings and programs for the Parliament session. He also has the decision making power as to when the house has to be prorogued or dissolved. Prime Minister acts as a chief spokesman and thus announces principal government policies and answers questions on them.

How Prime Minister Is Elected In India?

1) The candidate must  be a citizen of India.

2) The candidate should either be a member of the Lok Sabha (Lower House or House of the people) or the Rajya Sabha (Upper House).

3) If he/she is a member of the Lok Sabha then he/she should be at least 25 years old but If the candidate is a Rajya Sabha member, then he or she must be 30 years of age.

4) The President holds the power to appoint a person as the Prime Minister who is a member of neither of the Parliamentary House.

5) It is require that the candidate must be a member of the  must be a member of the political party or coalition which has garnered majority votes in the Lok Sabha.

6) The selected candidate must not hold any office of profit under the Indian government or government of any other state.

7) It is of utmost importance that the candidate should not hold any criminal charges proved in any court of justice in India.

Role of Prime Minister

1) It is the Prime Minster who advices the  President of India to appoint the council of ministers.

2) The tenure of the Prime Minister is initially for a period of five years but the candidate can stay in the power as long as he or she holds majority support in the Lok Sabha.

3) It is the Prime Minister who conducts and presides over the Cabinet meetings and its proceedings.

4) It is the responsibility of the Prime Minister to distributes various portfolios among the ministers some of which includes defence, home affairs, finance, railways, agriculture, law and justice.

5) The Prime Minister also has the power to change the departments allotted to the ministers at any time.

6) The Prime Minister is the real head of the nation and takes all the necessary steps in all sector of the nation.

List of Prime Minister of India: An Overview

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the Government of India. Some important facts related to Prime Minister Of India are given below:

  1. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime minister of India elected in 1947. He also named as India’s longest-serving prime minister.
  2. Indira Gandhi was the first Woman Prime minister of India elected in 1966.
  3. Rajiv Gandhi was sworn-in as India’s youngest Prime minister of India after the demise of his mother in 1984.
  4. Manmohan Singh is  the first Sikh Prime minister of India elected in 2004.
  5. Narendra Damodardas Modi is the current Prime minister of India and 14th Prime Minister of India.

Till now, the people of India have elected 15 Prime Ministers in India. Here, in this article we will discuss the list of Prime Minister of India (from 1947- present):

List of PM Of India (From 1947- 2020)

S.No. Name  Term Of Office
1. JAWAHAR LAL NEHRU 1947-1964
3. INDIRA GANDHI 1966-1977
4. MORARJI DESAI 1977-1979
5. CHARAN SINGH 1979-1980
6. INDIRA GANDHI 1980-1984
7.  RAJIV GANDHI 1984-1989
9. CHANDRA SHEKHAR 1990-1991
10. P.V. NARASIMHA RAO 1991-1996
12. H.D DEVGOWDA 1996-1997
13. I.K. GUJRAL 1997-1998
14. ATAL BIHARI VAJPAYEE 1998-1999 & 1999-2004
15. DR. MANMOHAN SINGH 2004-2009 & 2009-2014
16. NARENDRA MODI 2014-2019 & 2019- PRESENT

Practice with,

Jawaharlal Nehru – He was the first prime minister of independent India who had the longest time period (1952-1964) before he died. He was an eminent leader in the Indian Independence Movement and became prime minister after independence until he died in 1964.

Lal Bahadur Shashtri– In 1964, he took the position of prime Minister of India. He led the country during the India-Pakistan war in 1965 which was formally ended with the Tashkent Agreement in 1966. After this, he died in Tashkent because of a cardiac attack.

Indira Gandhi- Indira Gandhi(1967-1977) was elected as the 3rd Prime Minister of India and the 1st Lady Prime Minister of India. She was re-elected in the 1971 elections. In which, She led the fight with western Pakistan and helped to make an independent nation that is Bangladesh. In 1977, Morarji Desai became the PM but in the 1980 elections she became prime minister of India again but she was assassinated in 1984 by her guards.

Morarji Desai– In the 1977 general election, Morarji Desai became the PM who was from the Janata party but had to leave in 1979. He became the first Non-Congress Prime Minister of India in the year 1997.

Chaudhary Charan Singh (1979-80): Chaudhary Charan Singh was elected as the the fifth prime minister of India. He was Born in a peasant family in Uttar Pradesh, Charan Singh was the champion of peasants rights.

Rajiv Gandhi– After the death of Indira Gandhi in 1984, her son Rajiv Gandhi became the Prime Minister of India. While Campaigning for the 1991 election, he was assassinated by a suicide bomber of LTTE.

Vishwanath Pratap Singh- He was elected as the PM in the year 1989 but was in the office for less than a year.

Chandra Shekhar- He  was elected as PM in the year 1990 but remained in the office for less than a year.

P.V Narasimha Rao- He was elected as the 9th PM of India in 1991. He was first belonging to the southern part of the region and remained in office till 1996.

HD Deve Gowda– Haradanahalli Doddegowda Deve Gowda was elected as the 11th Indian PM and he had also held the office of the Karnataka chief minister from 1994 to 1996.

Inder Kumar Gujral – He was elected as the the 12th prime minister of India, I K Gujral was a participant of the Quit India Movement under Gandhi Ji leader ship. He was also a Rajya Sabha member as well as a Lok Sabha member.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee–  In 1996, Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the PM till 2004 and was re-elected twice in between. During his tenure, he carried out the Pokhran-2 nuclear test in 1998.

Manmohan Singh- In the year 2004, Mr. Manmohan Singh became the 13th PM of India who was the first Sikh PM of Independent India. He was re-elected in the 2009 election till the 2014 general election. He was also the first PM after Jawarharlal Nehru in INC who completed his full five years tenure.

Narendra Modi- He became the 15th Prime Minister of India as a member of BJP who was re-elected in the year 2019 and now is the Prime Minister of India. He abolished the Planning Commission and made NITI Aayog for the short and long term policy planning of India. Earlier, he was the Chief Minister of Gujarat.

Click Here to Register for Bank Exams 2020 Preparation Material

Also Read,




Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to