Daily GK Update 15 February 2020: Read Daily GK-Current Affairs Update

Daily GK updates are incorporated with the important news that made the current affairs headlines for banking or other competitive exams. Daily GK Update is the complete bag of the important news that held all day long. One should have complete knowledge about the banking terms, current affairs news, etc. So, here is the GK update of 15 February 2020 to help you prepare the Current affairs part. After reading this section, you can successfully attempt Current Affairs Quiz.


1. Bank of Russia gives license to GIC Re for reinsurance business

India’s reinsurance company, General Insurance Corporation of India (GIC Re) has received the license from Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia) to commence reinsurance business in Russia.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Chairman and MD of General Insurance Corporation of India: Devesh Srivastava.
  • Headquarters of General Insurance Corporation of India: Mumbai.
  • Vladimir Putin is President of Russia.
  • Moscow is the capital city of Russia.
  • The Russian ruble is the currency Russia.


2. India’s pioneering feminist Gita Sen wins Dan David Prize 2020

Indian feminist scholar, activist Gita Sen has won the prestigious Dan David Prize 2020 under “present” category. She has worked hard in the fields of women’s rights, reproductive and sexual health and poverty eradication. Sen is the director of the Ramalingaswami Centre on Equity and Social Determinants of Health at the Public Health Foundation of India.

3. BioAsia 2020 announces Genome Valley Excellence Award

BioAsia 2020 has announced the Genome Valley Excellence Award. American immunologist and oncologist Dr. Carl H June and Novartis CEO Dr. Vasant Narsimhan will be presented this award for their contributions to life sciences. The function will be organized by the Telangana government annual global biotechnology & life sciences forum.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Chief Minister (CM): Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao.
  • Governor of Telangana: Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan.
  • Capital of Telangana: Hyderabad.


4. ISRO G Narayanan to head space PSU NSIL

Veteran space scientist G Narayanan has been named the chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation’s newly formed commercial entity New Space India Ltd (NSIL). He was earlier working as deputy director (systems reliability and quality assurance) at the Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC), a Thiruvananthapuram-based unit of Isro that designs, develops liquid propulsion stages for launch vehicles.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • ISRO Director: K. Sivan, Headquarters: Bengaluru, Established: 1969.

5. Rajiv Bansal becomes new CMD of Air India

Senior IAS officer Rajiv Bansal was named the Chairman and Managing Director of national carrier Air India. He succeeds Ashwani Lohani. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved his appointment as CMD of Air India. Bansal, a 1988 batch officer of the Nagaland cadre, held the post of Additional Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas.

Other Appointments:

  • Rajiv Ranjan has been made Secretary of Fisheries in place of Rajni Sekhri Sibal, who is retiring this month.
  • Pawan Kumar Agarwal, CEO of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India, has been named Secretary, Consumer Affairs.
  • Director-General of the Archaeological Survey of India (ASI) Usha Sharma has been moved to the Department of Youth Affairs as Secretary.


6. Kiren Rijiju announces Ladakh and J&K will host Khelo India Winter Games 2020

Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju has announced Khelo India winter games 2020 which will be held in the Union Territory of Ladakh later this month followed by a similar event in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir in March.

Important Days

7. National Women’s Day of India 2020

India celebrates Sarojini Naidu’s birthday as National Women’s Day every year on February 13. This year Nation celebrates its 141st Birth Anniversary. She was born on February 13, 1879. She was famous for her nickname ‘Nightingale of India’ or ‘Bharat Kokila’ because of her poems.


8. Nobel Prize awardee Rajendra Kumar Pachauri passed away

Former Chairman and Director General of The Energy Resources Institute (TERI) Rajindra Kumar Pachauri passed away. He was born on 20 August 1940 in Nainital, Uttarakhand. He chaired the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) panel from 2002 until he resigned in 2015 after an employee at his research firm accused him of sexual harassment.

Pachauri received the Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of the IPCC, with the former United States (US) Vice President, Al Gore, for the year 2007. He also received Padma Vibhushan in 2008 & Padma Bhushan in 2001 from the Government of India.


9. “Operation Nakail” for Auto-rickshaws in Ghaziabad

The Ghaziabad police launched ‘Operation Nakail’ under which the identity of all auto-rickshaw drivers will be verified and a unique four-digit number will be allotted to them. The drivers will be required to get the unique number printed on the front, left, right and rear side of the auto-rickshaws. Customers can file complaints using the number if they face any harassment.

Important takeaways for all competitive exams:

  • Governor of Uttar Pradesh:  Anandiben Patel.
  • Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh: Yogi Adityanath.
  • Capital of Uttar Pradesh: Lucknow.

Check More Gk Updates Here

SBI Clerk Admit Card 2020

RBI Assistant Admit Card 2020

Watch Current Affairs Headlines:

Register here to get study materials and regular updates!!

All the Best BA’ians for SBI Clerk Prelims!

Download Upcoming Government Exam Calendar 2021


Download success!

Thanks for downloading the guide. For similar guides, free study material, quizzes, videos and job alerts you can download the Adda247 app from play store.

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Forgot Password?

Sign Up
Forgot Password
Enter the email address associated with your account, and we'll email you an OTP to verify it's you.

Reset Password
Please enter the OTP sent to