Latest Banking jobs   »   Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya

Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya: Museum on Indian Prime Ministers Detail


  • It is a tribute to every Prime Minister of India since Independence and a narrative record of how each one has contributed to the development of the nation over the last 75 years.
  • PM Modi inaugurated the Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya on April 14, 2022 in New Delhi.
  • The museum is located at the Teen Murti Avenue earlier known as Nehru Memorial Museum
  • It is under Ministry of Culture


  • To honour the contribution of all the Prime Ministers of India towards nation building.
  • To sensitize and inspire the younger generation about the leadership, vision and achievements of all our Prime Ministers.

Highlights of Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya:

  • Representing a seamless blend of the old and the new, the Sangrahalaya integrates the erstwhile Teen Murti Bhawan designated as Block I, with the newly constructed building designated as Block II. The total area of the two blocks is over 15,600 square metres.
  • There are a total of 43 galleries in the Sangrahalaya. These include displays on India’s freedom struggle and the framing of the Constitution.
  • The design of the museum building is inspired by the story of rising India, shaped and moulded by the hands of its leaders.
  • The logo represents the hands of the people of India holding the Dharma Chakra symbolizing the nation and democracy.

Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya: Museum on Indian Prime Ministers Detail_50.1

Here is the list of Prime ministers of India

Prime Minister Name Period
Jawahar Lal Nehru 15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda 27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966
Gulzarilal Nanda 11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966
Indira Gandhi 24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977
Morarji Desai 24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979
Charan Singh 28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980
Indira Gandhi 14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984
Rajiv Gandhi 31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989
Vishwanath PratapSingh 02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990
Chandra Shekhar 10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao 21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996
H. D. Deve Gowda 01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004
Dr. Manmohan   Singh 22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014
Narendra Damodardas Modi 26-May-2014  to Incumbent


Download your free content now!


Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya: Museum on Indian Prime Ministers Detail_70.1

Download Hindu Review of October 2021: Free PDF

Download your free content now!

We have already received your details!

Pradhanmantri Sangrahalaya: Museum on Indian Prime Ministers Detail_80.1

Please click download to receive Adda247's premium content on your email ID

Incorrect details? Fill the form again here

Download Hindu Review of October 2021: Free PDF

Thank You, Your details have been submitted we will get back to you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *